The Comeback Kid

It’s a bit of a misnomer because you’d naturally assume that someone would have had to have accomplished something before the disappearing act for them to talk about comebacks, but nevertheless, here I am. Making a comeback. And I think I’ve got quite some explaining to do.

So, if you’ve been keeping up with Jack, you’ll remember me talking about the Dark Horses project at least once. Where is it now? Not too far from where I left it when we last spoke. That’s for a number of reasons, all of which I can’t get into now, but all I can say is things got real. a little writer’s block here and there, and a little more pressing matters that had to be taken care of, concerning the project I am working on for school, but mostly, I ran out of that writing juice. What is the writing juice? It’s pretty hard to explain, but to make it simple, it’s an important factor that goes into what makes my writing move people. I ran out of that stuff.

Keeping with my trend of jumping between projects, I’m getting to work on a new one yet again. Jack fans (and yeah, I’m allowed to have those) will be familiar with the This Is After The End series, the post-apocalyptic short stories told from an African perspective. I had four of them published on the Tell it Write platform last year, and after taking a creative recess, or at least that’s what I am calling it, the journey is proceeding. I can’t make any guarantees, but a completion date has been set for the end of July. Tell it Write followers should expect to see one more sneak peek from the project in the coming weeks. But otherwise, the good news is I got the juice now.

Writing aside, it’s been pretty busy, but I’ve been working with my friend Mwape Mapulanga to bring more Soundhole Sessions so the blog won’t be the ghost town it’s been for the last four months. But till next time, keep doing it big.

~J~

Leave a Reply

