Save The World. ?

I used to believe that I could save the world.

Now? I’m not so sure.

I think it would help to mention that I didn’t necessarily have a plan of how I was going to do it, but I just knew that one way or another, it was going to happen. So what has changed? I’ll try and explain and hope it will make sense.

The world we live in is a rather cold one, and this doesn’t come as a surprise to anyone. Take Syria for example. Seven years ago, a series of uprisings in North Africa and the Middle East saw the long-standing leaders of several different countries toppled by the wave that swept across the region. Syria was such a country that was affected by the movement, but their leader stubbornly held onto power, and in doing so, plunged the country into a civil war that is still going till this day. Now, war isn’t a new thing to us; we’ve seen so many begin and not as many end, but I think that seeing this trend of destruction and inhumanity consistently from all the way back when I became globally aware has gone some way in making me a little more indifferent with each incident that comes and goes. And to make it worse, a few months ago, a chemical weapon was used by the Syrian leader that saw countless wounded and killed, but I think I’ve become so familiar with scenes such as the ones that came through in the aftermath of the attack that I’ll admit to spending two minutes on the news channel that brought the report. And I know that for many, the sentiment isn’t one that is foreign.

So how did it happen? Could it be that seeing the front lines of suffering and pain from the comfort of my sofa has numbed my sensitivity to these horrors that are perpetrated almost weekly now? Or could it be that the volume of everything that’s wrong with the world has simply inundated me to a point such that I feel like anything I may do would be insignificant? Whatever the case may be, right now, from my perspective, there isn’t much hope. It feels like there’s just too much to do and not enough people that are doing it. Nevertheless, it would be rather careless to simply give up and just keep living for one’s self. Still, to prevent that feeling of hopelessness from creeping in, I feel a perception shift is in order.

I used to think that I could save the world, but now I to rethink about what saving the world is. It’s not just about making it a better place; what I often forget that as much as I’d like things to change, there are people who are major shareholders in how it already is and would do anything to keep it that way. What I am saying is that trying to save the world isn’t just fighting to fix what’s wrong, but it’s also fighting against the people who benefit from it being so messed up. And guess what? I don’t have all the answers (big shocker there), but I know someone who does, and even though I still have a part to play, I also have to trust that above all, He has a handle on things. So you know what? I’m going to put on the cape and wear that S on my chest; saving the world starts by actually starting to do something, and loaded with my lappie, my six-string and a rather unusually colorful vocabulary, I am going to do all I can to influence the people in my reach and let the Big Guy upstairs take it from there.

Jack out.

~J~

Leave a Reply

